Dr Ken Henry AC and Prof Kathleen Walsh join Digital Finance CRC Limited Board


Sydney, 30 November 2023

Today, Digital Finance CRC Limited (DFCRC) and its Chair, Neville Stevens AO, announced the appointment of Dr Ken Henry AC and Prof Kathleen Walsh as Non-Executive Directors to the DFCRC Board following its Annual General Meeting.

Kathleen Walsh is a Finance Professor and the Associate Dean at the UTS Business School. Prof. Walsh brings a blend of academic excellence, extensive experience in finance education, and a track record of university-industry collaboration to the DFCRC.

Ken Henry’s appointment brings his exceptional expertise in economics, public service, and leadership to the DFCRC.

Neville Stevens said, “We welcome Dr Ken Henry and Prof. Kathleen Walsh to our Board. These appointments symbolise our commitment to fostering robust collaboration with government, university and industry stakeholders and enhancing our ability to drive significant economic outcomes.”

The DFCRC is poised to launch significant projects in the coming year, reinforcing the DFCRC’s mission to lead the evolution of finance through asset tokenisation, new marketplace creation, advanced pricing tools, and immutable provenance records.

The DFCRC Constitution limits the Board to a maximum of 8 directors. To enable the appointment of the new directors, Dr Andreas Furche is stepping down as a director, a decision solely dictated by these constitutional constraints. Dr Furche will continue in his role as CEO of DFCRC.

DFCRC Board Members:

Neville Stevens AO – Chair and Independent Non-Executive Director

Rachel Grimes AM – Deputy Chair and Independent Non-Executive Director

Jon Deane – Non-Executive Director

Clare Gill – Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Ken Henry AC – Independent Non-Executive Director

Prof Dan Johnson – Non-Executive Director

Greg Medcraft – Independent Non-Executive Director

Prof. Kathleen Walsh – Non-Executive Director


DFCRC oversees and operates a 10-year, $180 million research program as a collaboration between industry partners, universities, and the Australian Government through the Cooperative Research Centres Program. Our mission is to develop and leverage the next transformation in financial markets – the digitisation of assets traded and exchanged directly on digital platforms.

Media inquiries:

Sonia Patman

Email:  media@dfcrc.com